Healing Quotes Teens 701-800

“A book is not an isolated being: it is a relationship, an axis of innumerable relationships.”
.
~ Jorge Luis Borges, Ficciones
.
“Nothing is more powerful than a book. A larger book is slightly more powerful than a smaller book, because it can also be used to hit your enemies. Smaller paperbacks are terrible for that.”
.
~ Cecil Palmer, Welcome to Night Vale, Episode, The Librarian
.
“I ate them like salad, books were my sandwich for lunch, my tiffin and dinner and midnight lunch. I tore out the pages, ate them with salt, doused them with relish, gnawed on the bindings, turned the chapters with my tongue! Books by the dozen, the score and the billion.”
.
~ Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451
.
“Give me books, French wine, fruit, fine weather and a little music played out of doors by somebody I do not know.”
.
~ John Keats
.
“What on earth could be more luxurious than a sofa, a book, and a cup of coffee?”
.
~ Anthony Trollope
.
“I’ll read my books and I’ll drink coffee and I’ll listen to music, and I’ll bolt the door.”
.
~ J. D. Salinger
.
“It wasn’t until I started reading and found books they wouldn’t let us read in school that I discovered you could be insane and happy and have a good life without being like everybody else.”
.
~ John Waters
.
“Library books were, I suddenly realized, promiscuous, ready to lie down in the arms of anyone who asked. Not like bookstore books, which married their purchasers, or were brokered for marriages to others.”
.
~ Elizabeth McCracken
.
“I like art, and by art I mean poetry, sex, paintings, the human body, literature. All of this is true art to me.”
.
~ Hunter Reve
.
“Most homes valued at over $250,000 have a library. That should tell us something.”
.
~ Jim Rohn
.
“[T]hat I could find company and consolation and hope in an object pulled almost at random from a bookshelf—felt akin to an instance of religious grace.”
.
~ Jonathan Franzen; How to Be Alone
.
“Why read books? Because when you open a book, what you’re really opening is your own infinite imagination.”
.
~ Dr. Martin Bloem
.
“Some books seem like a key to unfamiliar rooms in one’s own castle.”
.
~ Franz Kafka
.
“Literature is the most agreeable way of ignoring life.”
.
~ Fernando Pessoa
.
“Reading a book is like rewriting it for yourself You bring your history and you read it on your own terms.”
.
~ Carter
.
“A novel worth reading is an education of the heart. ”
.
~ Susan Sontag
.
“I am fatally attracted to all bookstores.”
.
~ Lewis Buzbee, The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop
.
“Literature is where I go to explain the highest and lowest places in human society and in human spirit, where I hope to find not absolute truth, but the truth of the tale, of the imagination, and of the heart.”
.
~ Salman Rushdie
.
“Read books. Care about things. Get excited. Try not to be too down on yourself. Enjoy the ever-present game of knowing.”
.
~ Hank Green
.
“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on. Reading is the unbelievably healthy way my attention deficit disorder medicates itself. Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it’s a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it’s a way of making contact with someone else’s imagination after a day that’s all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.”
.
~ Nora Ephron
.
“Despite all the bad days and the mean people, I still believe in good days and kind people. Plus there are always dogs.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“You use a glass mirror to see your face; you use works of art to see your soul.”

~ George Bernard Shaw
.
“What goes best with a cup of coffee? Another cup.”
.
~ Henry Rollins
.
“All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make, the better.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson
.
“You will always be too much of something for someone: too big, too loud, too soft, too edgy. If you round out your edges, you lose your edges.
.
Apologize for mistakes. Apologize for unintentionally hurting someone– profusely. But don’t apologize for being who you are.”
.
~ Danielle Laporte
.
“Decaffeinated coffee is the devil’s blend.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“The ideal of calm exists in a sitting cat.”
.
~ Jules Renard
.
“Super incredibly maddening thing about mental illness.

Fighting your ass off to live a normal life and function as well as you can, and instead of getting credit and having people be proud of you for all the efforts you’re making, having people use your apparently normal behavior as a reason to invalidate you and think you weren’t that sick to begin with. It takes a lot of badassery to act this normal, but the effort is all invisible.”
.
~ http://sleepydumpling.com
.
“Coffee, the finest organic suspension ever devised.”
.
~ Captain Janeway, Star Trek: Voyager
.
“No amount of smiling at a flight of stairs has ever made it turn into a ramp. Ever”
.
~ Stella Young on why the saying “the only disability in life is a bad attitude,” is bullshit.
.
“I believe that the imagination is the passport we create to take us into the real world. I believe the imagination is another phrase for what is most uniquely us.”
.
~ John Guare
.
“No coffee can be good in the mouth that does not first send a sweet offering of odor to the nostrils.”
.
~Henry Ward Beecher
.
“Those around you can have their novellas, sweet, their short stories of cliché and coincidence, occasionally spiced up with tricks of the quirky, the achingly mundane, the grotesque. A few will even cook up Greek tragedy, those born into misery, destined to die in misery. But you, my bride of quietness, you will craft nothing less than epic with your life. Out of all of them, your story will be the one to last.”
.
~ Marisha Pessl, Special Topics in Calamity Physics
.
“I gave myself permission to care, because there are a lot of people in this world who are afraid of caring, who are afraid of showing they care because it’s uncool. It’s uncool to have passion.”
.
~ Tom Hiddleston
.
“Sometimes it is the smallest thing that saves us: the weather growing cold, a child’s smile, and a cup of excellent coffee.”
.
~ Jonathan Carrol
.
“I do not exist to impress the world. I exist in order to live my life in a way that will make me happy.”
.
~ Richard Bach
.
“I have to believe that caring for myself is not self indulgent. Caring for myself is an act of survival.”
.
~ Audre Lorde
.
“There’s a flame of magic inside every stone & every flower, every bird that sings &; every frog that croaks. There’s magic in the trees &; the hills &; the river &; the rocks, in the sea &; the stars &; the wind, a deep, wild magic that’s as old as the world itself. It’s in you too, my darling girl, and in me, and in every living creature, be it ever so small. Even the dirt I’m sweeping up now is stardust. In fact, all of us are made from the stuff of stars.”
.
~ Kate Forsyth, The Puzzle Ring
.
“I decided I want to be alive– Right here, right now.”
.
~ Shailene Woodley
.
“People talk about escapism as if it’s a bad thing …once you’ve escaped, once you come back, the world is not the same as when you left it. You come back to it with skills, weapons, knowledge you didn’t have before.”
.
~ Neil Gaiman
.
“Everyone who shares their thoughts are brave individuals. It takes guts to let anyone, and everyone see inside your heart. We should never let anyone discourage us from our right to share.
.
~ William Chapman
.
“I think fitting in is highly overrated. I’d rather just fit out… Fitting out means being who you are, even when people insist that you have to change. Fitting out means taking up space, not apologizing for yourself, and not agreeing with those who seek to label you with stereotypes.”
.
~ Golda Poretsky
.
“Develop an interest in life as you see it; the people, things, literature, music — the world is so rich, simply throbbing with rich treasures, beautiful souls and interesting people.”
.
~ Henry Miller
.
“Never stop. Never stop fighting. Never stop dreaming. And don’t be afraid of wearing your heart on your sleeve – in declaring the films that you love, the films that you want to make, the life that you’ve had, and the lives you can help reflect in cinema. For myself, for a long time… maybe I felt inauthentic or something, I felt like my voice wasn’t worth hearing, and I think everyone’s voice is worth hearing. So if you’ve got something to say, say it from the rooftops.”

– Tom Hiddleston
.
“I think it’s truth. I think most people have very complicated, tumultuous inner lives. That’s what fascinates me — everyone has so many contradictory layers. We are not consistent and we’re always striving to be something and running away from something else…”
.
~ Tom Hiddleston
.
“Keep a little fire burning; however small, however hidden.”

~ Cormac McCarthy, The Road
.
“A friend is one of the nicest things you can have, and one of the best things you can be.”
.
~ Douglas Pagels
.
“Give yourself time to get better.”
.
~ Sue Grafton
.
“You are,’ he said fiercely, looking at her. ‘You’re worth it.”
.
~ Rainbow Rowell
.
“She wears strength and darkness equally well, the girl has always been half goddess, half hell.”
.
~ Nikita Gill
.
“I adore the struggle you carry in yourself. I adore your terrifying sincerity.”
.
~ Anais Nin
.
“I want to inspire people. I want someone to look at me and say, ‘Because of you, I didn’t give up.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“Sarcasm and compassion are two of the qualities that make life on Earth tolerable.”
.
~ Nick Hornby, Songbook
.
“I don’t think that Twitter needs a sarcasm font. I was being sarcastic.”
.
~ Ricky Gervais
.
“Go into yourself and see how deep the place is from which your life flows.”
.
Rainer Maria Rilke
.
“Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt, and poetry is painting that is felt rather than seen.”
.
~ Leonardo da Vinci
.
“We all know that art is not truth, art is a lie that makes us realize the truth.”
.
~ Pablo Picasso
.
“Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow.”
.
~ Kurt Vonnegut
.
“Life is like music for its own sake. We are living in the eternal now, and when we listen to music we are not listening to the past, we are not listening to the future, we are listening to an expanded present.”
.
~ Alan Watts
.
“… the music sounded like everything that I’d been feeling but didn’t know how to say.”
.
~ Ruth Reichl, Tender at the Bone
.
“Falling in love with yourself first doesn’t make you vain or selfish, it makes you indestructible.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“Eat like you love yourself. Move like you love yourself. Speak like you love yourself. Act like you love yourself.”
.
~ Tara Stiles
.
“All sorts of things in this world behave like mirrors.”
.
Jacques Lacan, Seminar II
.
“Each day brings a miracle of its own. It’s just a matter of paying attention to this miracle.”
.
~ Paulo Coehlo
.
“It took many years of vomiting up all the filth Id been taught about myself, and half-believed, before I was able to walk on the earth as though I had a right to be here.”
.
~ James Baldwin, The Price of the Ticket
.
“Your purpose is to be you.”
.
~ Panache Desai
.
“I must change my life so that I can live it, not wait for it.”
.
Susan Sontag, Reborn: Journals and Nobebooks, 1947-1964
.
“You still have a lot of time to make yourself be what you want.”
.
~ S.E. Hinton, The Outsiders
.
“You are your own teacher. Investigate yourself to find the truth– inside, not outside. Knowing yourself is most important.”
.
~ Ajahn Chah
.
“Discover yourself, otherwise you have to depend on other people’s opinions who don’t know themselves.”
.
~ Osho
.
“So, what if, instead of thinking about solving your whole life, you just think about adding additional good things. One at a time. Just let your pile of good things grown.”
.
~ Rainbox Rowell, Attachments
.
“There’s a whole category of people who miss out by not allowing themselves to be weird enough.”
.
~ Alain de Botton
.
“Being both soft and strong is a combination very few have mastered.”
.
~ Yasmin Mogahed
.
“She wasn’t looking for a knight, she was looking for a sword.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“I’m the princess and the knight in shining armour.”
.
~ Uknown
.
“Long-term,’she said, ‘we’re all going to die. Then our bodies will rot. No surprise there. Short-term, we’re going to live happiness ever after.”
.
~ Chuck Palahniuk, Survivor
.
“Do not judge my path, you haven’t walked in my shoes… or ridden my broom.”
.
~ A.M. Galdorcraeft
.
“People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing– that’s why we recommend it daily.”
.
~ Zig Ziglar
.
“Do a little better than last time.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“As soon as healing takes place, go out and heal somebody else.”
.
~Maya Angelou
.
“I don’t believe in magic, but for you I will.”
.
~ Burce Springsteen, Countin’ on a Miracle
.
“The stars gave her a crown and said this is your place of belonging.”
.
~ whavies.tumblr.com
.
“The forest will answer you in the way you call to it.”
.
~ Finnish proverb
.
“I’ll have dirt on my feet and stars in my eyes, I’ll be in the forest where the earth comes alive.”
.
~ Alexandra, freeyoursoul.tumblr.co
.
“I believe in the good things coming.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“Coming to terms with how amazing you actually are really sets the tone for everything else in your life.”
.
~ lifemistlikestream.tumblr.com
.
“We must find time to stop and thank the people who make a difference in our lives.”
.
~ John F. Kennedy
.
“It takes bravery to be kind. But to be brave you will need to know how to stand for something even if you are completely alone.”
.
~ Nikita Gill, Lessons I Will Teach My Children
.
“Sometimes walking away has nothing to do with weakness, and everything to do with strength. We walk away not because we want others to realize our value and worth, but because we finally realize our own.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“Protect your peace. Get rid of toxicity. Cleanse your space. Cultivate love.”
.
~ Brittany Josephina
.
“To be good, and to do good, is all we have to do.”
.
~ John Adamas
.
“The future is always changing. We create the future by our words, our deeds, and with our beliefs.”
.
Ladera, Babylon 5, S1E13
.
“First I drink the coffee. Then I do the things.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“If you walk a mile in my shoes… you’ll end up in a coffee shop!”
.
~ Kevin Hogan, @HealingStigma on Twitter
.
“Art is a single moment made eternal.”
.
~ seven word story, @sevenwordspoem at Twitter
.
“Remember that art inspires, consoles, and takes us out of the here and now.”
.
~ Neal Gabler
.
“They’re trying to ban our Christmas tradition of sneering at people who think Christmas is being banned.”
.
~ Eddie Robson, @EddieRobson on Twitter
.
“If saying ‘happy holidays offends some of your… relatives, just say ‘chag sameach’ which is happy holidays in Hebrew.”
.
~ (((OhNoSheTwitnt))), @OhNoSheTwitnt on Twitter
.
“I’m Zen, so fuck off.”
.
~ Unknown
.
“Thanks for the advice but what I really need are minions.”
.
~ Unknown

Leave a Reply

