I’m Back

Just a short note to let everyone know that I am back. The last couple of weeks have been very stressful and physically demanding. I had to get rid of some of my stuff and put some of my other stuff in storage at a brother’s place, because I live in a small place and had to. I had a fixed time line where it needed to be done and with all of my health challenges that was very difficult to manage.

The management did an inspection and I was told what the issues were. I’ve lived here years and not had an issue with a manager before about this and unfortunately did not get any notice about it, because the notification was put on my apartment door and I did not go out for more than two days, so I had no notice. I have to start checking my front door each day, even though I don’t go out of the apartment, from now on.

So there was a notification that they were going to spray for bugs and that took a lot of work to get ready for with about 36 hours notice, again door, but seriously they were not even giving us 48 hours notice. And I don’t have bugs, though living in an apartment building makes it always an issue that I have to be vigilant about. Lots of other apartments got the same notice on their doors as well, noticeably up and down my hallway.

On the day after the spraying I got another notice that I had not complied with the lease on safety and cleanliness. I was so happy to have a week to get it all in order. So the re-inspection is this afternoon. I had help, that is all that I have to say, very lucky that I have some family members who helped me. Really tired out and exhausted and riddled with lots of bruises. But happy that my apartment work is done.

15 thoughts on “I’m Back

  1. This is one of the hard parts about living in a multi-family building. You have to hope your neighbors are clean and care about taking care of issues immediately so they don’t get out of hand and expose others to them. When we worked in the leasing office of a previous apartment, it was disheartening to learn just how many people give little consideration to taking care of their homes. At least now we live next to the caretakers and know they won’t allow things to become problems. Glad you don’t have a bug problem yourself and that you can rest after today. ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi,

      Thanks. πŸ™‚ A big problem, well three actually, people here are messy and that includes food, people have bug issues that they do not report so that sprayings do not get done in a timely manner, and many people here have more than one person in the tiny studio apartments leased for one person only. If they were one bedroom apartments it would be an entirely different issue, but the small space means that we are all so near to one another and a loud or drunken or drugged up person is a very huge imposition on everyone else’s peace. Ideally I would like to move to a one bedroom building that is low income housing, but that takes time and I am on the waiting list, so I will continue waiting and probably start looking for something better next spring and summer and get on some more lists.

      Thanks for the wonderful comment. It means so much. πŸ™‚ Good and healing thoughts to yous and your family.

      Kate

      Like

    • Hi David,

      I do think that the manager realized and since she is vindictive and hateful I think she did it on purpose, as she has done it to others who are good tenants who have issues with the lack of enforcement of policy and leases; safety issues, loud drunken drug parties, screaming and hollering, children running in halls, screaming, hitting doors and walls up and down the stair wells, etc etc etc. I am hoping that she is gone soon, as the managers only last on average ten months and she has already been here six months. Beyond that I am hoping to be finding a different place to live in a year or 18 months, and hopefully that will go good. Conceivably that is about a good time frame for me. So I am trying to be invisible and unheard from, if at all possible. I know her for the hateful person that she is, when my refrigerator died after only a year, she tried to blame me right away but it never worked right when it was brand new. Trying to be unseen and unheard. That is my best plan for now.

      Good and healing thoughts to you.

      Kate

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi David,

        There have been several other incidents and I am happy to say that invisible to her is my preferred technique. It was my preferred technique as a toddler as well when in the house with my mother, without others to witness, which was passive protection. I got very good at invisibility. And my goal of invisibility to other tenants works best as well, as I do tend to stay out of their lives, and yet polite and kind in the hallways. That too is wise and works best.

        The new tenants since February have been car accidents and if you have no enforced rules that can only make a bunch of car pile-ups. And then to have rules enforced on the good tenants means she wants to rid us all from the building, as she has actually said to others that is what she wants to do. I don’t know if she is planning on a new job or not, none of them seem to be moving on, and then they are just gone, so here is to hoping. (I think that they just walk off the job one day, as that is what it seems to be happening with all the sudden disappearances of the managers and assistant managers.) Perhaps I should start praying about her, as I do think that we all in her buildings need some kind of miracle. Lol.

        Good and healing thoughts to you and to all the queens.

        Kate

        Liked by 1 person

      • Honestly, I think it can’t hurt to pray about her. Usually in situations like that, I hold an intention that it will resolve in a way that is beneficial to everyone, and hurtful to no one. And then the universe can decide what that means. If it means that someone gets a karmic bitch-slap—well hey, that’s not my problem. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Granny,

      Thank you for the lovely and encouraging comment. πŸ™‚ That really made me feel better for days and days. I slept a lot since then and am feeling more normal.

      I hope that you and your lovely family have a wonderful December and a wonderful holiday season. I am looking forward to it myself and we are planning to post a lot here on the blog in the near future. We really need to make up for some lost time. Missed you loads. Good and healing thoughts to yous.

      Kate

      Like

  2. I’m glad you’re doing better! *safe hugs* I wanted to share with you that after 2 years of applications, I finally got my disability. This is such a blessing as I’ve been on welfare. Thank you dear for all your energy sent my way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Story,

      We are so happy for you and your little family. That is so long for them to make you wait to get approved. That is so terrible. So sorry that you were going through that for so long.

      Thank you for the hugs. πŸ™‚

      We are still doing two Reiki sessions a week for you and for Willow and think of yous often. We are proud to be able to send healing to yous. Good and healing thoughts to yous.

      Kate

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back, Kate! I’m sorry to hear what you had to go through. It would be nice if the management slid a note under your door rather than hanging it on the outside of your door. But oh well. The good thing is, it’s all over with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Anna,

      It would be nice if they were respectful and conducted themselves within the bounds of the law, but that is probably not going to happen. They are a rinky dink company. And have not improved in almost four years of being here, so I am trying my best, and doing what I can to take care of myself, and to look in the long-term, a year or 18 months from now of finding a new place. That is probably the best that I can do with this company, decide to move on when I can. I am still trying to get reasonable accommodation, but they keep acting like that is not a legal thing that they have to do for someone who is disabled. But I now it is. For the time being, I am being a responsible tenant to my egregious lease and biding my time.

      Good and healing thoughts to you.

      Kate

      Like

Leave a Reply

