My Healing Altar

Some years ago I had a healing altar. I’ve missed having one ever since. I finally decided recently to make up another altar. I’ve been slowly picking out pieces of mine that I wanted to have on the altar. I’ve picked a few things that I have owned for many years and treasure. I finally decided that I consider them sacred and that they make me happy; two criteria that I have for sacred items that I would consider putting on my healing altar. So expect to see some photos this week as I start preparing my healing and sacred space.

I was going to wait a couple more months before finally assembling all the items on a end table, but finally decided that I will use the top or half of the top of my extra desk so that it is right beside me when I am at the computer desk and well within sight of my bed and the kitchen area.

Since starting on this process I have decided to put up several small altars as well throughout my space, as I decided to make healing and sacredness and personal space even more treasured and honored in my sacred home space, to really have it in every corner or space. So I am working on that too and will be posting about that more in the next week or two.

So much of my life and my healing has been inner-centered, and perhaps being multiple/DID that makes a lot of sense. But it would be more accurate to say that I have been hesitant and scared to put myself and my life out there in the world, even if only in my sacred home space, for fear of it or me/us being violated, devalued, or mistreated by others. The truth is that is why I have only allowed a few people into my space and allowing family into my space has never felt good, even when they tried to be somewhat respectful. So I guess that I have a ways to go on healing in this area of my life and my space.

I have decided that if I allow a family member into my space after things are changed then I will tell them in advance and ask them not to be critical. With my loud brother I won’t tell him and instead if he says anything I will just tell him it is my stuff and my space and his opinion is not being solicited; that seems to be a good way to stop him most of the time. Or try to change the subject, those are the only things that seem to work with him. Rules, boundaries, and limitations; they are all important things to have with a dysfunctional family of origin. It’s highly unlikely that he will come up to my apartment again, but in case he wants to, I will probably let him, if he is being nice.

Have you ever had a healing altar? What things did you have on it or would you have on one if you created it? Would colors be important? What colors? What kind of objects? I’d love to know more.

I’ll be sharing more in the next week.

9 thoughts on “My Healing Altar

  1. This is something I have to remind myself of all the time – you do not have to defend or explain yourself to anyone – be it family, friends, or strangers. In my experience, healing never stops, so don’t be too hard on yourself. I’ve never had a healing alter so I’m looking forward to see what you add to yours 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi,

      With my family it is always an inner debate about how much I am willing to share, and then I don’t share more than I choose to.

      If my sister knows it is a healing altar she would look at it more closely and give a good response. But I would tell her in advance and also tell her not to be critical.

      With my loud brother I would definitely not say it was a healing altar or sacred things or space. I would just object to any negative comments, which he does about my life and everything about me, inner and outer. His opinion doesn’t matter, but still it is a project to allow him into my life because of the awful ways that he can be.

      I don’t have anyone but family here in my studio mini apartment and that only rarely, as I really like to keep my space as private as possible. My childhood was one of explanations and defending and now I don’t practice that much, except as a knee jerk reaction, which still happens when triggered. Still, a work in progress. I would like to be stronger than I am, but I am willing to keep working on it and know that I will get there, some day. 🙂

      I hope you like the ideas that I share for my healing altar. Good and healing thoughts to you.

      Kate

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to have one, then I got married and my husband claimed it and made it his own along with everything else. I haven’t bothered to keep one since.

    That aside, before then I distinctly recall having an incense burner, a bowl of sea salt that I kept my stones in, and a little offering bowl I left in the center of the altar. I was a single mother at the time and my oldest son would typically leave a couple of pieces of candy in the offering bowl “for the fairies” and it took me quite some time to figure out that it was the youngest that was eating the candy. But my oldest was delighted to think that the fairies were eating his candy. He stopped doing it the same year he found out from school mates that the Tooth Fairy wasn’t real.

    I’m trying to remember what else I had on there, since it’s been so long. My sister bought me a set of meditation balls – one with a Chinese dragon and the other with the Chinese phoenix. I had those on there. I had two matching deep violet blue glass goblets. And I always had tea lights.

    If I were to build one again, I would do the same as I did the first time: I would let my heart speak to me and guide me. Your heart knows what it needs. It knows what is important. So let it guide you in building that altar. After all, it is for you and your heart. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi,

      Thank you so much for sharing! I really love your altar. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing so much about it. Do you think that you will ever make another for yourself?

      Good and healing thoughts to you.

      Kate

      Like

      • I feel that I ought to since I have felt disconnected from everything for a very long time – like something inside me has been severed in some way. I’m not sure how to explain it. I know some people say they are living behind a glass wall, but it doesn’t feel quite it for me. Whatever it is that is “wrong” isn’t outside around me, it’s inside. As if something has been lost or taken. Somehow your post resonated with me – particularly about setting up more than one around the home. Makes me think of anchors and lighthouses for some reason. The problem I have is my husband has just enough understanding to recognize it for what it is and then wreck it. I don’t know why he has done this with every scrap of personal and sacred space I have. The only space I have won is my desk – and it was a terrible fight. Now he won’t even call it my desk, it’s just “the desk” but really these types of fights shouldn’t happen in the first place. If I do set up another altar I probably should place it on the top shelf of my desk, but I fear it would trigger another fight. If I could set it up in such a way that it wouldn’t look like an altar to him but still look like one to me, that would make me very happy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds difficult, as he seems to not want to let you have separate space.

        Could you set it up in a drawer, if you have that as a private space.

        Or set one up, set your healing intentions and the sacredness, take a photo, and then separate your items through your room, you could put the items around one room, but on the photo they are all set up together and keep the photo for yourself. You can still see the items through the room as you sit at your desk and you know that they are all a part of it.

        Or you could set your it up and then just take a mental photo and keep that in your mind. And then separate your items and he won’t know anything cause your mind space is a healing space and he can’t touch it there or move anything around or cause it to be changed.

        Just a few ideas off the top of my head. I know all about the deviousness of having no private space growing up.

        Good and healing thoughts to you.

        Kate

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll have to figure something out. It’s an interesting idea. I don’t know what his deal is. He can have private space, but I can’t? It completely sucks. I think I like my desk idea and I will just have to put my foot down about it. He’s in the army now so he isn’t here much anymore. Maybe I can set up in a way he wouldn’t notice. Or just hide it all when he comes on leave.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

