I Told Her Thank You For Mothering Me

On the holiday I was over at my sister’s for a family gathering/celebration. I love my sister’s potato salad, absolutely freaking love it. A huge bonus was that she gave me a bunch to bring home in a plastic container, it was a lot. I always look forward to eating my little mothering food gifts from her a lot.

The only reason that it did not get eaten right away when I got home was that I was so tired out that I went to bed at nine pm that night, just at the time I started hearing some fireworks were starting. It was nice that the fireworks did not continue to bother me, because I went to sleep right away.

While my sister was preparing the potato salad to be dished out and put on the dining table, she does this thing where she always mixes it together one more time and then takes a spoon and tastes it.

She brought a full spoonful over to me and I opened my mouth and she put the wonderful food into my mouth. It was wonderful! What I didn’t expect is that my sister was overcome emotionally and started to cry because she was so touched that I let her put the spoon in my mouth. She said she was so moved that I let her.

I told her thank you for mothering me. Then I told her, thank you for mothering me when I was little. If it wasn’t for you and our brother, [who was born about 18 months before me], I don’t know who I would be. I think I may have started out sweet and good and kind but I don’t know who I would have become it wasn’t for the mothering by you and him.

(What I had left unsaid, but she understood was, since I didn’t get one iota of love or mothering from our biological mother I don’t seriously know what I would have become without finding others to love, nurture, and mother me. As well as being a survivor of mother daughter sexual abuse, neglect, and physical abuse by my mother, and being hated and rejected by my mother.)

I’ve said it before, but she usually pooh poohs what I say about the mothering that I got from my siblings, how it has positively effected my life, and most other positive things. She is a lot like me, in that she discounts most good things that others say and believe about her. But I think that I caught her at a vulnerable moment and that she might have let it in, even for a moment. It’s nice to be mothered in a good way, I desperately yearn for that, and I’m glad that I could say it again by thanking her for mothering me, in small little gestures of trust and devotion, and in all the other moments.

6 thoughts on “I Told Her Thank You For Mothering Me

  1. What a beautiful post. I’m so glad that you have this experience and support available, and that you accept it for what it is, simply being grateful. It’s wonderful! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Story,

      Thank you so much. We have many years of strife between us, and now we have good things again for the last few years. It is nice to be mothered, in a good way. I am finally at a point in my healing that I can call it what it is and be grateful and thankful.

      Good and healing thoughts to yous.

      Kate

      Like

  2. What a sweet moment! Good of you to take advantage of it. Never let those times pass without saying the loving words people need to hear and you need to say. We can all be good mothers to each other. And what wonderful memories they make! Very proud of you!

    Granny

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Granny,

      Awww, thanks Granny. A lot of the time I think that my emotions and attitudes are being understood by my family, but the truth is that they don’t get me or interpret me very well, and I do need to use my words. This was one of the times when I thought it was right to speak up and say what was in my mind and heart.

      I grew up in a family that used to make fun of me for doing that, so over the many years I slowly stopped saying what was going on inside of me. A few of my brothers still make fun of me, but I don’t share much of my inner life with them as a consequence. At my sister’s home and when visiting her I prefer to tell her things and hope that she can receive from my heart. I’m glad that she is not someone who makes fun of me or calls me too sensitive or any number of critical comments that family have made in the past.

      Thank you for your beautiful comment. 🙂 Good and healing thoughts to yous.

      Kate

      Like

    • Hi David,

      Thank you. I will give my sister the love when I see her tomorrow. 🙂 She loved hearing that baby kitty was doing so much better. And she loved the photo I showed her of the two girls chillaxing.

      Good and healing thoughts to yous.

      Kate

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

