Healing Poems 307

The First Voyages Out

Walking across the bridge on my way
to school, I’d lean over the railing

and stare down at the river
until I was moving

on a ship’s stern
past the wooded banks

and the smoky mill towns toward
the ocean and the shining world beyond

I was beginning to read about –
Egypt, Rome, Greece and the Parthenon,

their golden light drawing me
past my friends’ shouts to hurry

or we’d be late, their voices drowning
in the wake of my departure.

~ Paul Martin

Leave a Reply

